Photoshop tutorial for equalizer

As an amateur Photoshop artist, I have read a great many tutorials on the internet for creating Photoshop images, some which are very helpful, and others which are not. Having created my own work from scratch, I want to assist the community by writing my own tutorials, allowing others to use them to create their own work whilst learning at the same time.

In this tutorial we are going to create a ‘graphic equalizer’ image, the final product is shown below:

We begin with making the bars, by using the shape tool, simply draw a rectangle. Make as many as you want, depending on the size of the equalizer you want.

Next we choose the colour we would like; I went for the generic green/yellow/red colours. Simply use a layer mask to apply this gradient to the bars.

Next we need to create the equalizer ‘effect’. This is done by cutting lines out of the bars (horizontally) and shortening various bars to different lengths.

Next I added a drop shadow to the bars, not required but I think it gives them a little more depth.

Now to create the reflection; first duplicate the bars (drop shadow is optional, I didn’t), then flip this new set upside-down, then move it into position so the base of the bars in both sets touch. Now transform the bottom set using perspective to give it the effect shown below. I’ve also faded the bottom bars a little (using a layer mask with a gradient).

Next duplicate everything, change the hue and blur it a lot. Use this behind the bars to create a contrasting background.

Now do the same again without the hue change, and put this layer on top of the rest. Change this layer opacity to about 35%.

Finally put in a background for the document, and you are done.

I hope this has been a useful tutorial, and you are now confident in producing your own equalizers in Photoshop.

3 responses to “Photoshop tutorial for equalizer

  1. Really nice idea Craig – definitely worth doing more of these. Also, you could add a PDF version of each tutorial/some kind of menu or listing page as you create more tutorials so that readers of your blog can access the tutorials easily as a series.

  2. Hi Craig, I like this a lot. I think it might be worth adding categories for different levels of expertise: beginners, intermediates and advanced. I look forward to what else you are going to bring to the table.

Leave a comment